They say it’s your birthday (doo doo de doo)

Sunday was my birthday and it was a lovely day! For the first time in a few years, I didn’t have external woes on my mind. (2012-14 featured, respectively, my boyfriend’s kidney stones, a terrorist manhunt, and my grandmother dying. Who said life was orderly?)

I went to church and we were graced with the presence of former soloist and friend, Bertilla. Our anthem, “Jesus Will,” was a ton of fun and you can see the Spirit moving us all in this video. By the 5:10 mark, the whole congregation was on its feet!

That’s me towards the back. Thanks to Mark for taking video.

Afterwards, I hit the bar and spent the afternoon drinking with my sister and a few friends.

 photo 20150419_143751.jpg

In the midst of all those birthday shots, my man’s mom called and asked what he was up to. When he told her it was my birthday, she invited us out to dinner. I sobered up and we had a terrific dinner at Burger and Barrel.

 photo IMG_0820.jpg

Even my coworkers surprised me the next day with tiramisu and more off-key renditions of “Happy Birthday.” I couldn’t stop laughing because I was COMPLETELY oblivious to their whispers and plotting (apparently, the candle broke!).

 photo 2015042095124315.jpg

I feel enormously grateful to all the people in my life who made it such a fun weekend (or week, if you count Lord of the Rings as the beginning of birthday festivities. Wheee!). I’m young enough to realize I’ve got a lot of life and wisdom to gain still……but old enough to recognize that this is my only shot at it. Soon my twenties will be over, and that’s a decade I’ll never get back. (Would I WANT to get it back, though? There’s a lot of quarter-life angst that I’ll be happy to never revisit, thankyouverymuch.)

Here’s to the next year– may it be filled with growth and pleasure for all of us!

8 thoughts on “They say it’s your birthday (doo doo de doo)

      • Caroline, it was April 9th. I didn’t make a big deal out of it this year. It wasn’t a milestone, and to be honest, I forgot about it a couple of times. It was nice, but from the looks of things, yours was nicer.

      • WordPress is stupid and not letting me reply directly to your comment, so let’s see if this works. April 9, wow! I say “wow” because I know SO many people with the same birthday. And it often is a special day for me, so I KNOW there’s good energy on 4/9. (For example, this year it was night 2 of the LOTR extravaganza). Mazel tov and here’s to the next, non-milestone year!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

