Diabetes Blog Week: Favorites and Motivations

The week is nearly over, and here is Saturday’s prompt: If you have been blogging for a while, what is your favorite sentence or blog post that you have ever written?  Is it diabetes related or just life related?  If you are a new blogger and don’t have a favorite yet, tell us what motivated you to start sharing your story by writing a blog?  (Thank you Laddie of Test Guess and Go for suggesting this topic.)

I think it’s fun to write, so that’s why I started blogging.

Thanks to this topic, I went to the Wayback Machine and found the very first webpages I made……a few Expages sites back in 1999. I read HTML books and ran contests and had this whole network of fellow teenage nerdy girls. I’m not linking because my 13-year-old writing skills….do not deserve to be on here. (SO. MUCH. “KEWL.”) But it was hilarious.

I kept a Livejournal for many years as an older teen, another place filled with humor and angst. Someday I’ll go digging for the best writing there.

I was a guest blogger on ACT1Diabetes for a while. The site is down; hopefully only temporarily because most of my posts on there don’t seem to have migrated to the Wayback Machine. Here’s one, and one of the best…..not for the writing so much as the memories. Simonpalooza, Big Apple Edition.”

But it occurred to me, as we were sitting around at the bowling alley noshing on special-edition Simonpalooza cupcakes (thanks to Tina) and shooting the breeze…..that this gathering was all about love. Usually diabetes meetups occur because of a larger event: World Diabetes Day, the rally for the UN Summit on Non-Communicable Diseases, even dinner after an ACT1 support group. But that day was the first time for me that we were gathered simply to share the love and power of community. To meet new friends and greet old ones again. To talk for hours about everything besides diabetes, but to not bat an eye when a CGM starts alarming or somebody needs glucose tabs. And an opportunity for Simon to share with all of us his profound gratitude for being, in his own words, his “closest allies through a period of near blindness and extreme disability, nurs[ing] me through erratic and unpredictable blood sugars….”

“I consider some of my ‘online’ friends closer than family, for without their support and understanding of the diabetic journey I shudder to think where things might have ended in my spiral into depression and isolation.”

As for Chortling Towards Bethlehem, I’m most pleased with the research I did on the subtle science of racism. If you want something funny, there’s also that time I fell while running, bled everywhere, broke my Dexcom, and met the weirdest tennis player ever.

I’m excited to read other people’s responses to this one! We can read more Day 6 posts here.

2 thoughts on “Diabetes Blog Week: Favorites and Motivations

  1. I like people who chortle, as long as they’re not standing right behind me. Although I haven’t carried around a compass to see if they were doing it towards Jerusalem, Bethlehem or Mecca. From now on, I will.
    Nice! Your writing flows, and it’s real.
    (tried to delete the previous one because the info was wrong!)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

